noobhello.blogg.se

Windows 7 how to change default printer
Windows 7 how to change default printer
  1. #Windows 7 how to change default printer mac os#
  2. #Windows 7 how to change default printer install#
  3. #Windows 7 how to change default printer windows 7#

If anyone can assist with this, please send me an email directly as I need to get this figured out ASAP. But have not found anything specific about this issue, other than a KB article stating there's a problem with network printer GUIDs not being removed during sysprep (thus why I'm not setting I have searched MS's knowledge base, and google searches, etc. Is this the correct key to set the DEFAULT network printer in Windows 7? It is a useful tool for corporate users since they do not have to worry about mistakenly printing the document in a wrong printer and then cancelling the print job. When minimized, it sits silently in the system tray monitoring the open windows. The above command does set this registry key with the correct values I expect, but when I login with a domain account, I get a different default printer. You can change the printer, remove program, or choose to set a default printer. REG ADD "HKU\ACSTEMP\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows" /v Device /t REG_SZ /d "%DEFPTR%,%PTRVALUE%" / The command I use to set the default printer is (DEFPTR is a variable which i set to be the printer queue name I want to set as the default):

windows 7 how to change default printer

I can't determine exactly what is going on, usually the one Windows selects is the FIRST network printer I installed, but sometimes it isn't. The problem is, when I try to set the DEFAULT printer, the one I selected is NOT the one that Windows sets. When I login with a domain profile, the network printers I installed via these command lines are there and usable.

#Windows 7 how to change default printer mac os#

So for example if the computer, with the network printer, is running under mac OS I would like my windows7 laptop to recognize that and change the default printer to the mac printer. The above command works fine, and copies the network printer settings to the default user hive fine. For further clarification, my network printer is connected to a computer that has a dual boot Mac OSx/Windows 7. REG ADD "HKU\ACSTemp\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Devices" /v %NWKPTR% /t REG_SZ /d %PTRVALUE% /f Windows 7: cscript C:WindowsSystem32PrintingAdminScriptsen-USprnmngr.vbs -g Windows XP: cscript C:windowssystem32prnmngr.vbs -g These will get the default printer of the current system. Then I copy the printer settings for the "current user" (local admin profile logged into while running the batch file) to the default user profile using a command like (ACSTemp is the temp hive where I load theĭefault user profile, NWKPTR is the printer queue name that I'm copying settings for, and PTRVALUE is the value for the printer key - both of those variables work fine, I've checked them): Rundll32 printui.dll,PrintUIEntry /in /q /n\\\

#Windows 7 how to change default printer install#

I use the following command to install the network printer drivers: So, I install the network printers after deployment, via a batch file. The local admin profile does NOT have network printers installed (since there is a bug that Sysprep does not remove all GUIDs for network printers, I propagate the local admin profile to the default user profile during sysyprep, as specified by Microsoft.

#Windows 7 how to change default printer windows 7#

I need to be able to set (and change) the DEFAULT printer (for ALL users) in a Windows 7 image, via a command-line prompt (or batch file).

Windows 7 how to change default printer